2021 Tackling Economic Crime Awards (TECAs) finalists announced

Finalists of the third year of the TECAs have been announced.  All those that have been selected have been judged by an independent panel – appointed by the leading associations and anti-fraud groups – to have demonstrated commitment and outstanding performance in tackling all areas of economic crime. 

A record number of nominations were received from the public, private and third sectors, and commenting on the awards founder Martin Gill said:

“We are delighted by the number and quality of entries received this year, which clearly demonstrates that there are lots of excellent things taking place to combat all areas of economic crime”.  Gill further adds “The TECAs strict ethical principles are paramount. More and more people and organisations are supporting them, and the credibility of the awards is growing. This has clearly been demonstrated by the diversity of the nominations received this year.”   

The 2021 finalists are:

Outstanding Manager or Director
Neil Green – Government Internal Audit Agency
Mick O’Brien – First Customer Contact Ltd
Ramona Senior – West Yorkshire Police
Bernadette Smith – Cynergy Bank
Emma Wright – West Mercia Police

Outstanding Team
Dedicated Card and Payment Crime Unit (DCPCU) Team
HMRC Fraud Investigation Service, Cardiff and the Financial Development Team, London
GMP Scambuster Volunteers
HMRC Priority Criminal Unit Team
HMRC Project Meteor Team
Kent SECU Team
Monzo Financial Intelligence Unit
National Economic Crime Victim Care Unit (NECVCU) Team
Northamptonshire Police Tier 4 Fraud Team
South Yorkshire Police Fraud Coordination Team

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative
FinCrime Testing Service (FTS) – BAE Systems Applied Intelligence
NatWest and Nuance – Tackling Fraud Together

Outstanding Training Initiative
Cifas Fraud and Cyber Academy
DCPCU Protect Team
HMRC Counter Fraud Academy: Disclosure Training Team
Procurement Fraud Awareness e-learning with SFJ Accreditation by FPP/Inqual-pro

Outstanding New Product or Technology – sponsored by cifas
Best Practice Standards and Indemnity Platforms – UK Finance Limited
Deduce Customer Alerts & Identity Insights
HSBC Fraud and Cyber Awareness App
Lloyds Banking Group CPO Pega Cloud Delivery
Scout® – Synalogik

Outstanding Partnership
International Charity Fraud Awareness Week – Fraud Advisory Panel and Charity Commission for England and Wales
National Investigation Service in partnership with BEIS
Better together: National Investigation Service, NHS Counter Fraud Authority, Greater Manchester Police Economic Crime Unit and Crown Prosecution Service
Joint Money Laundering Intelligence Taskforce (JMLIT) Tax Crime and Evasion Threat Group
Lloyds Banking Group & City of London Police
UK Finance & Members / City of London Police / Metropolitan Police Service (DCPCU)
Victim Support Sussex / Sussex Police / Sussex Police & Crime Commissioner

Outstanding Investigator

Clare Byrne – Lewes District and Eastbourne Borough Councils
David Campbell – HMRC
Ben Hobbs – City of London Police
Ruth Mumford – Eastern Region Special Operation Unit – Bedfordshire Police
Andy Siddle – HMRC
Temporary Detective Sergeant Matt Swift – Leicestershire Police

Outstanding Policing Initiative
Economic Crime Operations and Strategy teams Civil Recovery workstream, HMRC Fraud Investigation Service
Dedicated Card and Payment Crime Unit (DCPCU) – City of London Police
National Economic Crime Victim Care Unit (NECVCU) – City of London Police

Outstanding Young Professional
Matthew Cooper – South Yorkshire Police
Detective Constable Matt Cornell – City of London Police
Samuel Dean – HMRC
Adam Mercer – Action Fraud – City of London Police
Laura Murphy – Government Internal Audit Agency
Jonathan Nelson – Herefordshire Council

Outstanding Prevention Initiative
Cifas’ Local Authorities Screening Service
COVID-19 Fraud Watch Initiative – Fraud Advisory Panel
Stephen Kelly – Essex & Kent Police SCD
Monzo Financial Crime Team
National Trading Standards Scams Team / Call Blockers
Nuance: Gatekeeper

Outstanding Tackling Economic Crime Professional
Sean Flynn – City of London Police
Claire Jenkins MSc FCCA – Companies House
Claire Maillet – Jaja Finance

Lifetime Achievement
To be announced on the day

Winners of the TECAs will be announced at a free to attend virtual awards event which will be streamed live on 6th December 2021.  Tickets can be reserved here.

The TECAs are sponsored by Altia (trophies) and cifas (category).

Scroll to top