The finalists of the 2020 Tackling Economic Crime Awards (TECAs) have been announced

Recognising the outstanding contribution in tackling all areas of economic crime, the Awards showcase the very best organisations, teams, individuals and initiatives that the sector has to offer and acknowledges their considerable achievements.

Professor Martin Gill, founder of the TECAs said:

Building on the success of the 2019 inaugural TECAs, we are delighted with the overwhelming response we have received to the 2020 awards.  This year many people and organisations have had to adjust in dealing with new as well as existing challenges, and we are heartened by the commitment and response that has been shown in the quality of entries received.   The judges’ job in marking the entries against set criteria wasn’t easy.  All those that have been selected as finalists should feel very honoured.

The 2020 finalists are:

Outstanding Team

National Trading Standards Scams Team – Friends Against Scams Team
West Yorkshire Financial Exploitation and Abuse Team
NHS Counter Fraud Authority – Strategic Intelligence Team
Reigate & Banstead Borough Council Fraud & Financial Investigations Team
Zurich Insurance Intelligence Team
Hertfordshire Police Serious Fraud and Cyber Unit Team
Kent Police Financial Investigation Unit Team
HMRC – Operation Hairball Team
Veritau Team
HMRC – AMLS Money Service Business Strategy Team

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative

North Yorkshire Police – Victim Support Initiative
ERSOU – Rachel Wallace (Asset Recovery Initiative)
ERSOU – Clare Joyce (Crypto Currency Initiative)
Hertfordshire Constabulary & Catch 22 – Beacon Victim Care Initiative
TSB – Fraud Refund Guarantee (FRG) Initiative

Outstanding Training Initiative

NHS Counter Fraud Authority – Organisational Development, Advanced Suspect Interview Course
NHS Counter Fraud Authority – Organisational Development, Advanced Disclosure Course
HMRC – Counter Fraud Academy Training Initiative
Merseyside Police – Jackie Long (Scams Training Initiative)
Lloyds Banking Group – Fraud & Financial Crime Training Initiative
Forensic Procurement Partnership & Accredex – Procurement Fraud Awareness e-Learning
Global Cyber Alliance – Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting, and Conformance (DMARC) Bootcamp Initiative
Counter Fraud Centre of Expertise – Fraud Risk Assessment Training
Cifas Learning and Fraud and Cyber Academy

Outstanding New Product

Synalogik Innovative Solutions – Scout
NHS Counter Fraud Authority – Fraud Prevention Unit (Fraud Reference Guide)
HMRC – MSB Public Private Threat Update
Zurich Insurance – Carpe Data Counter Fraud Solution for Zurich Insurance
LexisNexis® Risk Solutions – Intelligent Matching Decision Solution (IMDS)
Forensic Procurement Partnership & Accredex – Procurement Fraud Awareness e-Learning
Cifas Facial Matching
Cabinet Office and Experian Covid Response – Corporate Due Diligence Product
Graydon UK, Cifas and TruNarrative – Graydon Business Risk Fraud Detection and Compliance Tool
HMRC Fraud Investigation Service – Supply Chain Investigation Immersive Learning

Outstanding Partnership

BAE Systems & Zurich Partnership
Forensic Procurement Partnership & Accredex
The Public Sector Counter Fraud Journal Editorial Board Partnership
Graydon, Cifas & TruNarrative Partnership
Worldpay Financial Crime & Law Enforcement Partnership

Outstanding Investigator

Lee Sheridan – Head of Gloucestershire NHS Counter Fraud Service
Nicola Muskett – ERSOU
Nick Moulton – Halton Borough Council
Dave Perry – HMRC
DC Liz Heath – Hertfordshire Police
David Reynolds – Lewes District & Eastbourne Borough Council
Sarah Chapman – HMRC

Outstanding Young Professional

Zac Barrett – HMRC FIS Cybercrime
Catherine McGregor – HMRC
Grace Brown – Cabinet Office

Outstanding Female Professional – Sponsored by Cifas

Claire Jenkins FCCA – Companies House
Tammy Barnes – Derbyshire Constabulary
Jackie Long – Merseyside Police
Shifa Chowdhury – North West Regional Organised Crime Unit

Outstanding Male Professional

Keith Hampson – Merseyside Police
Philip Juhasz – Hertfordshire Shared Anti Fraud Service
De Quincey Bailey – HMRC

Outstanding Prevention Initiative

Andy Fox – North Yorkshire Police Financial Abuse Safeguarding Initiative
Jackie Long – Merseyside Police (Fraud Prevention Initiative)
PC Jim Day – Cheshire Constabulary (Operation Radium)
Confirmation of Payee – Lloyds Banking Group
Cifas Portal
NAFN Data and Intelligence Services – Intelligence Alert Prevention Initiative
PPE and Medical Equipment Due Diligence Processes – Government Counter Fraud Function (GCFF)
Scam Marshals – National Trading Standards Scams Team
West Yorkshire Trading Standards Corona Virus Scam Alert

Lifetime Achievement – Sponsored by LexisNexis Risk Solutions
Winner will be announced on the day.

Winners will be announced at a prestigious virtual awards ceremony which will be streamed live on Wednesday 9 December 2020. A virtual afterparty will follow providing an opportunity to network with likeminded peers.

Scroll to top