Finalists announced for the Inaugural Tackling Economic Crime Awards (TECAs)

The finalists of the inaugural Tackling Economic Crime Awards (TECAs) have been announced.

Recognising the valuable contribution in tackling all areas of economic crime, the Awards showcase the very best companies, individuals and initiatives that the sector has to offer and acknowledges their considerable achievements.

Professor Martin Gill, founder of the TECAs said:

“The response we have received to the first-ever TECAs has been outstanding. This is a sector wide initiative designed to create a level playing field.  The judges are nominated by the associations and agree to mark to an ethics policy. That is why winning is so valued”

The 2019 finalists are: 

Outstanding Manager or Director

Mike Brown – Direct Line Group

Gemma Pezzack – V12 Retail Finance

Denis Rice – Royal Mail

Simon York – Fraud Investigation Service, HMRC

Outstanding Team

Barclays Financial Intelligence Unit

Cabinet Office, Counter Fraud Centre of Expertise, Data Analytics Development team

The DCPCU (Dedicated Card & Payment Crime Unit)

Direct Line Group Counter Fraud Intelligence Team

National Trading Standards Scams Team

North East Regional Asset Recovery Team

Operation Gauntlet – North Yorkshire County Council Trading Standards and North Yorkshire Police

Profession Team, Government Counter Fraud Profession, Counter Fraud Centre of Expertise

Veritau Limited

West Yorkshire Financial Exploitation and Abuse Team

Outstanding Consultant

Graydon Business Intelligence Unit – Graydon UK

PwC Financial Crime Team

Stuart Underwood – Nationwide Building Society

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative

Karen McNeil – Department for Work and Pensions, Counter Fraud, Compliance and Debt

Pop-Up Solicitors/Umbrella Firms – DWF Law LLP

Cyber and Economic Crime Awareness Service – Greater Manchester Police

Julian Watts, Bank Signature Forgery Campaign – Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Thames Valley

Police Digital Security Centre

Outstanding Training Initiative

City of London Police Economic Crime Academy

 HMRC Criminal Justice Academy

Stephanie Ogunjimi – Lloyds Banking Group

Interview Advisers – Serious Fraud Office

James Jenkin – Serious Fraud Office

Veritau Limited

Outstanding New Product

Graydon Detect – Graydon UK

Halo – Insafe International Limited

Bank Signature Forgery Campaign – Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Thames Valley

The Paybase Risk Suite – Paybase

Outstanding Partnership

Bank Signature Forgery Campaign & All-Party Parliamentary Group on Fair Business Banking

Charity Commission for England & Wales and Fraud Advisory Panel

Hertfordshire Shared Anti-Fraud Service

Insurance Fraud Prevention Partnership – Hastings Direct & BAE Systems

Rehabilitation Validation Project – Aviva & DWF Law LLP

Midlands Fraud Forum

National Fraud Initiative (Cabinet Office) – Synectics Solutions & QBE

Nationwide Branch & Support Team

Statutory Accounting and Corporate Structure Fraud Project Team – Companies House, Cabinet Office, HMRC & Insolvency Service

Outstanding Investigator

Ryan Andrews – HMRC

Robert Byrne – Serious Fraud Office

Steven Carter – South East Regional Organised Crime Unit

DC Chris Collins – Metropolitan Police Service

Angela Harvey, Chris Hargreaves, Ian Terry, Richard Grant – West Yorkshire Police

DC Tania Harnor – Eastern Region Special Operations Unit (ERSOU) Cybercrime

Ben Hobbs – Metropolitan Police, DCPCU

DC Adele Shallcross – Avon & Somerset Constabulary

Surrey Police and South East Regional Organised Crime Unit (Cyber)

Kelly Williams – Barclays Bank

Outstanding Young Professional

Chelsea Baron – Coop Insurance

Sean Flynn – City of London Police – DCPCU

Dave Laramy – Capital One UK

Jessica Lightowler – British Council

Chris Phillips – V12 Retail Finance Limited

Susan Webb – PwC

Joshua Young – Yorkshire Building Society

Outstanding Female Professional

Linda Avan, Senior Intelligence Investigator – DWF Law LLP

Dianne Hunt – West Mercia Police

Claire Jenkins FCCA, Integrity & Enforcement Unit – Companies House

Sarah Keeling – StoneTurn

Debra Linge – Lloyds Banking Group

Joanne Marshall – Nationwide Building Society

DC Tara Owens – Metropolitan Police Service

Helen Seed – HM Revenue & Customs

Narinder Shergill – Serious Fraud Office

Rachael Tiffen – Cifas

Dr Justine Walker – UK Finance

Outstanding Male Professional

Russell Chinn – Metropolitan Police, DCPCU

James Jenkin – Serious Fraud Office

Outstanding Prevention Initiative

The ALP Team, Combating OAP Fraud – The WoS Group

Barclays Approach to Human Trafficking

Tony Blake and Real Consequences Training Video – UK Finance

James Freedman: Man of Steal

HMRC Anti Money Laundering Supervision – Estate Agency Businesses Week of Action

Merseyside Police

Tony Murray – City of London Police

Samantha Street, Investment Scams Initiative – Grant Thornton UK LLP

Santander UK, APP Scam Prevention

Scotland Fraud Focus – DWF Law LLP

The Lifetime Achievement winner will be revealed on the day

Winners will be announced at the prestigious, black-tie awards ceremony on Monday 9 December at the Sheraton Grand London Park Lane.  Ticket holders will have the opportunity to network with peers during a drinks reception, enjoy a sumptuous three-course gala dinner with colleagues and following the award announcements, celebrate with the very best of the profession at the after-party; the ultimate networking opportunity of the year

Altia-ABM are the headline sponsor and Cifas have sponsored the menu/programme. 

Scroll to top